ELSINBORO TOWNSHIP PLANNING BOARD

Dave Faulhaber - Chairman 856-935-4472 Steve Cornman - Secretary 856-935-7593

Meeting Date: January 15, 2025

The Elsinboro Planning Board meeting was held at 6:30 p.m. The hearing was conducted in the Elsinboro Township Municipal Building, 619 Salem – Ft. Elfsborg Road. Members present were Chairman Dave Faulhaber, Steve Cornman, Sean Elwell, Frank Master, Ken Brown, Rich Kazunas, Joe Robbins, Jane Schaffer, and Daniel Paul.

No members of the public were present for the hearing.

The Sunshine Law Statement was read by Dave Faulhaber.

Motion #1: Sean Elwell nominated Dave Faulhaber for Chairman Pro Tempore. The appointment of Dave Faulhaber carried by a unanimous vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

Motion #2: Frank Master nominated Steve Cornman for Acting Secretary. The appointment of Steve Cornman was carried by a unanimous vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

Dave Faulhaber swore in the following members: Sean Elwell, Ken Brown, Janet Schaffer, and Daniel Paul. Joe McAllister, and Carman Daddario were not in attendance and will be sworn in at a later date.

The Board proceeded to re-organize for the year 2025. Attendance was recorded at the beginning of the meeting.

Motion #3: Dave Faulhaber was nominated for the position of Board Chairman for the year 2025. With no other nominations, Sean Elwell made a motion to appoint Dave Faulhaber to serve as Board Chairman for the year 2025. Joe Robbins seconded the motion. A voice vote was conducted and Mr. Faulhaber was elected Chairman of the Board for the year 2025 by a unanimous vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

Motion #4: Steve Cornman was nominated for the position of Board Secretary for the year 2025. With no other nominations, Ken Brown made a motion to appoint Steve Cornman to serve as Board Secretary for the year 2025. Rich Kazunas seconded the motion. A voice vote was conducted and Mr. Cornman was elected Secretary of the Board for the year 2025 by a unanimous vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

ELSINBORO TOWNSHIP PLANNING BOARD

Dave Faulhaber - Chairman 856-935-4472 Steve Cornman - Secretary 856-935-7593

Motion 5#: Richard Kazunas was nominated for the position of Board Vice-Chairman for the year 2025. With no other nominations, Dave Faulhaber made a motion to appoint Rich Kazunas to serve as Board Vice-Charman for the year 2025. Ken Brown seconded the motion. A voice vote was conducted and Mr. Kazunas was elected Vice-Chairman of the Board for the year 2025 by a unanimous vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

Motion #6: The 2024 Board Solicitor Marla DeMarcantonio, was not available to serve the Board for 2025. A motion to **table the appointment** was made by Sean Elwell and seconded by Rich Kazunas. Voice vote on the motion was conducted and the motion carried by a unanimous voice vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

Motion #7: The firm Fralinger Engineering, was nominated for the position of Board Engineer for the year 2025. With no other nominations, Sean Elwell made a motion to appoint Fralinger Engineering to serve as Board Engineer for the year 2025. Frank Master seconded the motion. A voice vote was conducted and the firm Fralinger Engineering was appointed Engineer of the Board for the year 2025 by a unanimous vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

Motion #8: Ken Brown made a motion to designate The South Jersey Times as the **temporary newspaper** until **March 2025.** Board Legal Notices shall utilize digital notification until the State Legislature addresses the issue of local newspaper availability and the use of digital notices. Also, that Board meetings will be conducted on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m., when the Board has business to conduct, and directed the Board Secretary to forward a copy of the schedule of Board Meeting Dates to the Township Clerk, posted on the municipal bulletin board, and forwarded to the South Jersey Times. This motion was seconded by Joe Robbins and approved by a unanimous vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

Regular Business

Motion #9: Ken Brown made a motion to dispense with the reading of the December 18, 2024 meeting minutes and to approve the minutes of that meeting. Joe Robbins seconded the motion. The motion carried by a unanimous voice vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

ELSINBORO TOWNSHIP PLANNING BOARD

Dave Faulhaber - Chairman 856-935-4472 Steve Cornman - Secretary 856-935-7593

Motion #10: Ken Brown made a motion to adopt Resolution 2025-01, a Resolution Memorializing the Board's Re-Organization for the Year 2025. Rich Kazunas seconded the motion. The motion carried by a unanimous voice vote of 9 Ayes and 0 Nays.

Other Business:

Mayor Elwell asked about changes in the way Board information is provided to members. He asked if these materials could be sent electronically. The Board Secretary indicated that with email addresses provided by the members, the agendas, minutes, application packages, including application plats cand be provided electronically via email.

Mayor Elwell also requested that hard copies of application materials continue to be provided at meetings. The Board Secretary indicated that this was also achievable as applicants are still required to submit 16 copies of application materials to the Board.

Mayor Elwell noted that for the first time in several years, the Board was at full compliment of 9 voting members and 4 alternate members. He and the Board Chairman thanked the members present for their past and future service.

Mayor Elwell notified the Board of the pending hearing regarding The City of Salem's efforts to utilize current Port of Salem facilities for process trash from other states. He informed the Board that there will be a public meeting with the Salem County Improvement Authority at the Salem Waste Management Building in Alloway Township. This meeting is scheduled for January 29th and he encouraged public attendance.

Motion #11: With no further business before the board, Ken Brown made a motion to adjourn. Frank Master seconded the motion. The motion carried by a unanimous voice vote and the meeting was adjourned at 6:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Wm. Steve Cornman

NOTE: Signed copy on file with the Secretary.